The Flaming Lips – Race For The Prize

Written by: Steven Drozd and Wayne Coyne
Released: 1999
Album: The Soft Bulletin
When I got hooked: 2000
The thing that got me hooked: Everything!

The cool, the crazy, the fabulous Flaming Lips. In the Autumn of 1999 a friend of mine played me «The Soft Bulletin» and I was shocked. You see, I had more or less dismissed «new» bands (everything from after 1975), so when I heard The Flaming Lips I knew I had to adjust my way of thinking.

I literally became obsessed with «The Soft Bulletin». You may think I am exaggerating, but I did listen to it every day for about two years. It’s true! And every time I listened to it, one more of its thousands of layers revealed itself. Even today I notice new things when I listen to the album. «The Soft Bulletin» is one of the truly brilliant, outstanding and ground-breaking albums of our all time.

Since that Autumn day 13 years ago, I have seen The Flaming Lips live in concert 8 times. One of the greatest experiences was when they played «The Soft Bulletin» in its entirety at the beautiful Alexandra Palace in London 1 July 2011. The video underneath is from that very gig. It still gives me a chill when «Race For The Prize» kicks in at 2:05.

Leave a comment